Wellingborough School was founded in 1595 and today, over 400 years later, it offers uniquely a Co-educational Day School education whilst retaining so much of its Boarding School tradition. Its philosophies still hold good to the School’s motto : “Salus in Arduis” – fulfilment through challenge.
There are three distinct parts of the School :
Pre-Preparatory, Preparatory and Senior which nurture pupils at different stages in their educational journey but Wellingborough School as a whole has clear commonly-held values.
The original School, a Tudor Grammar School foundation, was situated in the centre of the town and in 1881 the move to the present 45 acre site was completed. The School was, until 2000, still predominantly a boarding School and girls were admitted for the first time in 1970 and we have made the difficult transition to a fully Co-educational Day School but a Day School with a difference.
The contemporary catchment area of the school is considerable, stretching now from Market Harborough over the Leicestershire border, westwards across the M1 to Daventry and Towcester, down to Milton Keynes and Bedford and in the east across towards Oundle.
Much has changed in over 400 years yet the School retains its finest traditions and many of these have been captured in the School Archives Room housed in what was formerly the Platt's Housemaster's Study. Few Schools are able to boast such a comprehensive and fully catalogued collection of memorabilia. As well as being a great attraction to visitors the Archives are used as primary source material for pupils of all ages and in particular for all Year 9 History pupils for whom the History of the School is an intriguing component of their History syllabus.
It is 24 years since the first edition of "Four Centuries", The History of Wellingborough School written by Neil B. Lyon (President of the Old Wellingburian Club and Governor) was published. In his new book, called Lovers of Learning, 490 of the best photos and illustrations from the Archives have been selected, which provide a fascinating visual record of the school with a foreword written by Earl Spencer.
|© WELLINGBOROUGH SCHOOL 2010 | Registered number: 4931009. Charity number: 1101485 | DESIGN DSD-EDUCATION.COM|